Coconut Curry Sweet Potato and Greens Soup

IMG_3243Working from home today, I needed a quick and tasty lunch for myself (and I thought about leftovers for my husband tomorrow as he is working through lunch to see some extra patients on the weekend).  I opened the fridge and was a bit overwhelmed by the produce.  I am still getting the boxes from my crop share and the other organic farm that provides other products, as well as vegetables.  This week I received a box from both locations, so let’s just say I have a few greens to get through this week.  We have Kale, Chard, Arugula, two bunches of “braising greens”, 2 heads of lettuce, escarole, and two heads of cabbage.  My number one goal for lunch was to use up one bunch of greens.  I had a small jar of curry  on hand, so I decided to make a curry soup using one of the bunches of braising greens, which seems like a mix of mustard greens, chard, and dandelion greens.  Coconut Curry Sweet Potato and Greens Soup was today’s quick lunch.

Cook– 20 minutes
2 sweet potatoes, diced
1 small bell pepper red, yellow, or orange, diced
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 chili, diced
2T red curry paste
1 can coconut milk
1 bunch of greens of your choice
cilantro
green onions

This one is so easy and quick:
Turn a deep sided sauté pan to medium and coat with olive oil. Chop and drop the sweet potatoes, cutting them small enough to cook quickly. Let them begin to brown and soften. Chop and drop the pepper, garlic and chili and season all with s and p. Let these work for 2-3 minutes to soften. Add in the curry paste, and stir it into the veggies. Let it cook to bring out the flavors for a minute or two while you open your can of coconut milk. Pour in the thick coconut milk (I like the varieties that are also packed with the cream) and stir. Add in about a 1/2C of water to add some more liquid. Chop your greens and add them in. Keep the heat at medium and let the mixture bubble away, braising the greens and cooking the sweet potatoes. Chop your cilantro and scallion for garnish while you wait for the soup to come together. Once the potatoes are soft, about 10 minutes, the soup is ready.  If you have a heartier green, it may take a little longer for the greens to finish.   Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary.

The Finish
Ladle the soup into a bowl, top with cilantro and scallions (I love a big helping of the garnish, as I am a cilantro lover). Enjoy!

The Feedback
So perfectly flavorful, delicious, and healthy for lunch, but would be absolutely perfect for a dinner- add a salad and some naan maybe? The topping of the fresh herbs added so much depth to this quick cooking soup. The earthy greens and the sweet potatoes were perfect ingredients even though they are a bit out of the ordinary for a curry dish. Give this a try on a busy weeknight or put it together for lunch.

One thought on “Coconut Curry Sweet Potato and Greens Soup

Leave a comment